>Multitasking – One Task at a Time

April 17, 2011

>The other day, a friend told me: “Women are just wired to multi-task.” If this is a true statement then I definitely missed out on that gene pool. I have tried many times to multi-task, but usually when I do, I find the milk in the washing machine or I wind up with two different socks on.

Take the blog posts I have written in February, March & these first two weeks of April – they are a perfect example of my multi-tasking ability. (How long did you just spend searching for them? Hehehe)No – there is nothing wrong with your computer – there are NO blog posts in all of February, March and half of April. Why is this you may wonder?

Simple – because it was tax season.

“So what”, you ask? So, even though I work only part-time preparing taxes, I am in tax-season mode. I work on taxes seven days a week, even if just for a few hours a day and because of that, I am unable to switch gears from my number side to my creative side, all thanks to my missing multi-tasking gene.

My Mom always says she cannot walk and chew gum at the same time, so I guess I’ll blame my missing gene on her (Hi Mom!)

My husband (not a woman), always amazes me with his multi-tasking ability. He can talk on the phone, type an email, carry on multiple IM chats (a disaster waiting to happen for me) and watch a baseball game all at the same time. I can’t even finish this blog post because my four year old is telling me a story…

Okay, I’m back…

The good news for me is that tax season is now over (well technically there is still one day, but who’s counting?). I can finally spend some time with everything I have woefully neglected over the past months.

One thing at a time, of course.

Leave a Reply

