>Summer Vacation with T(w)eens

June 21, 2011

>We are on day two of summer vacation with my 13 and almost 11 year old. Last night (at the end of day one), I found myself asking… is it September yet? It is not that I don’t love spending time with my two older kids. In fact, the opposite is true. I love spending time with them. However, no matter what I have planned for the day – they have their own agendas in mind.

Here’s my yesterday… it started at 9:30 in the morning when my 13 year old asked, “Mom, would it be okay if I go to M’s house to go swimming?” Yes. You read that right. For some unexplainable reason, my 13 year old was up, showered, and ready to get his day started at 9:30 in the morning on his first non-school day. This is the same kid who normally would sleep until noon on his day off if I let him.

My response: “Well, I have a quick dentist appointment this morning, and then I thought we could go to the mall and get some stuff for camp.”

His response: The look. You know that look. It’s the one that says: “What?! You are going to make me spend the first day of summer vacation with you in the mall, when all my friends are going swimming? Besides, you won’t even let me get anything from Abercrombie, so what’s the point?”

My response: “Um – I guess we can go tomorrow.”

His response: “Cool – C’s mom is picking me up at 11:30.”

Well gee – glad you already worked out your transportation before getting permission. At least, my taxi got a break on that one.

My 10 year old has a much different system. She gets up, pulls out her phone directory, and proceeds to call one by one down her list to see who can come over. She finally strikes gold. M can come over. They retreat up to her bedroom, only to be seen over the next few hours, when they come out for snacks.

Last night, I warned told my kids we would be going shopping today for camp. An hour later, my 13 year old asked if I bought pool passes for this summer. When I told him I did, he then asked, “Can I take one tomorrow and go with S to the pool?”

Well at least my four year old still wants to hang out with me… for now anyway.

Blogging Hints Catch a Wave Wednesday

Leave a Reply

